Welcome Cafe

Tea and biscuitsOnce a month, on a Tuesday afternoon, there is a chance for tea and cake at the Thornhill Centre for those living with any kind of memory loss and those who care for them.

The Welcome Café is just that – a place where you will find a warm welcome and a listening ear. We offer a range of activities for our visitors including crafts, puzzles, the odd game of Bingo or Dominoes and there is a TV corner. We also occasionally have visits from our local PCSOs, Pets as Therapy dogs and representatives from other organisations and service providers such as The Chapter Arts Centre.

The Café was set up with a Council grant in 2016 and is run by volunteer members of the North Cardiff Medical Centre Patient Group. (NCMCPPG) Whilst we are not professionals, we all have experience of living with family members with memory loss and a real desire to offer help and support.

We recognise that caring for someone living with memory loss is challenging and sharing experiences with others in a similar situation can be invaluable. Our hope is that all our visitors get the chance to unwind, enjoy conversation and company and perhaps offer and receive a little mutual support.

We look forward to seeing you at the Welcome Café.

Jen, Rose and Dinah

The Welcome Café meets on the 2nd Tuesday of every month at the Thornhill Centre from 2-3.30pm

The dates for 2019 are:

  • Tuesday 8th January
  • Tuesday 12th February
  • Tuesday 12th March
  • Tuesday 9th April
  • Tuesday 14th May
  • Tuesday 11th June
  • Tuesday 9th July
  • Tuesday 13th August Our Welcome Cafe is CLOSED
  • Tuesday 10th September
  • Tuesday 8th October
  • Tuesday 12th November
  • Tuesday 10th December

Recent meeting minutes